Ginger fizz smoothie.

I’ve been seriously slacking on exercising lately, which I at least partially attribute to my job hunt and the exam I took for my online class yesterday. I put off studying until yesterday and of course did more poorly than I hoped.

I missed two interviews on Tuesday because I attempted to get a first interview during a job fair, and ended up standing two hours before I realized it would be at least another few hours until I would probably speak with hiring managers. By that time, I was grumpy, hungry and needed to leave for another interview. On my way home, I stopped for some coconut water and a Nutz over chocolate Luna Bar, and then promptly missed my second interview due to rush hour traffic, and third due to my knees and hips aching from standing too long (the third would begin with a 3 mile run, and achy joints would get me nowhere in a run).  Frustrating!

At least things perked up yesterday, when I sent in a barrage of job applications, contacted some new contacts and made delicious vegetarian shepards pie. There’s something ironic about eating Shepard’s Pie while watching Hannibal (we did last night), so I’m glad it was the vegetarian version! eeks. Ours was vegetarian because I added some buttah to the cauliflower and potatoes mixture. To make it even awesomer after pre-preparing it and stuffing it in the fridge with the potato portion on top of the lentils, I put it back in the oven for 20 minutes at 350, covered, then 20 minutes uncovered, which browned the topping nicely.

Thursday was made even better with a short run of 1.5 miles at a 10 min/mile pace followed by 20 minutes of a Jillian Michaels dvd with hubby.

I ran out of coffee and desperately needed caffeine, so I was hoping for green tea at breakfast, so today started with a Spicy Carrot Green Tea Smoothie (the “spiciness” comes from the ginger):
8 baby carrots, washed
1 tbsp. ground fresh ginger root
1 cup of unsweetened green tea
1/3 cup of sparkling water (I used pomegranate flavor)
2 tbsp. whole oats
1 banana
1 kiwi
1 tsp. white granulated sugar
5 ice cubes
 
Blend until smooth and enjoy!
 
Fitness and Health Goals this week:
1. Run 10 miles total, -1.5 mi. already done; I’ll likely do two 2.5 mi. runs and a 3.5 mile run
2. Drink more water and tea!
3. Map all my runs and workouts this week, and make time for those runs so I stay in shape! It helps me to see my workouts, and because I’m slightly compulsive, I want to fill in all the little squares of the MapMyRun Calendar with runs and workouts!
 
Cheers!
Leave a Reply

