Pumpkin cravings…

I thought I might not jump on the pumpkin recipe bandwagon, but a recent trip to Ghiradelli Chocolate in downtown San Francisco left me with some unfulfilled cravings. The shop is apt at luring in potential customers with their simple decorations and of course the greeter at the door offering free “samples” of pumpkin chocolate squares.

DROOL….

Unfortunately I didn’t buy any because I having no paycheck means a $20 package of pumpkin chocolate happiness is money poorly spent. But the pumpkin chocolate combination was so delicious that I’ve been thinking about it ever since Saturday, and even purchased a can of pumpkin at the store to try my hand at making something with it (and to fulfill my one “novel ingredient” per week goal)! Luckily there was a container of organic chocolate chips in the freezer waiting for a purpose, so I made these delicious chocolate chip pumpkin muffins and a pumpkin banana smoothie to munch on while studying for my online class. Next up? These pumpkin gingersnaps, which we surprisingly have all the ingredients to make!  I loosely based the smoothie on this recipe, but my version was prepared with a limited spice collection:pumpkin loving

Banana pumpkin smoothie

1 cup pumpkin puree
1/2 tsp. honey
1/2 tbsp. granulated sugar
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 cup milk
1 tbsp. vanilla
1 cup ice
1/2 tbsp. flaxseeds
Blend all together until smooth, stirring as necessary. Sprinkle with pumpkin pie spice or cinnamon.
 

I’ve been trying to keep up with a workout habit lately, and I say habit because it’s not anything that resembles something that anyone could label as a “routine”.  I’ve been all over the place trying Jillian Michaels’ workouts, courtesy of the library of Contra Costa and of our South SF friends, and running fairly increasingly longer distances a few times each week. I’d like to sweat 6/7 days, because it makes me feel more awake and more focused on tasks at hand! I’d also like to hit 10 miles of running per week by the end of October, which I think is do-able, as long as the cooling weather doesn’t turn me into a slug.

This last week… (yes, I realize that calenders don’t start on Wednesday, but I don’t care)

Wednesday: 0 miles
Thursday: 0 miles
Friday: 1.85 mile run 10:48 min/mile, 
Saturday: Long walk in SF from the airshow to Chinatown and back to Bart (very very slowly, and very far),                                                                                               Monday: Jillian Michaels Shred Step 1 20 minutes                                         Tuesday: 2.4 miles at  11:40min/mile (I walked about 5 minutes of the total time; Boo.)

Planned workouts (for a total of 7.7 miles this week)

Today: Jillian Michaels Shred Step 1 and Step 2 DVD (40 min)
Thursday: Run 1.85 miles, Gaiam Yoga cooldown (Hulu)
Friday: Jillian Michaels “No More Trouble Spots” 40 min. workout
Saturday: Run 2.5 miles
Sunday: Run 1.49 miles
Monday: off! (interview day)
Tuesday: Run 1.85 miles, Yoga cooldown (Hulu or netflix)
 
Cheers!
Leave a Reply

